Texas Misdemeanor penalties are explained in the Texas Penal Code. In Texas, there are two levels of criminal activities, misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors are for lesser violations and felonies deal with the more serious violations. Misdemeanor’s range from a common speeding ticket up to assault with bodily injury.
Although these are the lesser charges, they can still greatly affect one’s life. There are three levels of misdemeanor crimes. They are classified as A, B or C. Class C has the lowest Texas Misdemeanor penalty and increases up to Class A.
Class C Misdemeanors involve such acts as traffic violations, public intoxication, gambling, simple assault, etc. These crimes are punishable by a fine up to $500.
Class B Misdemeanors are crimes such as first offense driving while intoxicated, criminal trespass, vandalism, prostitution, etc. These crimes are punishable by time in jail up to 180 days, a fine up to $2,000 or a combination of both.
Class A Misdemeanors are crimes such as driving while intoxicated (second offense), assault with bodily injury, public lewdness, etc. These crimes are punishable by time in jail up to one year, a fine up to $4,000 or a combination of both.
Although misdemeanors are not as serious as a felony charge, Texas misdemeanor penalties can have serious consequences to your life. Misdemeanors could a affect your ability to obtain a job or an apartment. Some convictions will follow you for the rest of your life.
Do not attempt to handle any criminal charge without a full understanding of the possible results and how to properly handle the charge. The sooner you get representation, the easier it will be for your criminal defense attorney to collect evidence to support your defense.